History of Albright Albright’s history harkens back to the Revolutionary War era, as the current town sits near the site of Butler’s Fort on the Cheat River. The current town was incorporated in 1914 and named for a local property owner, David Albright. Albright flourished as a coal town into the 1960s. Albright Today: What Makes Us Unique Albright has an incredible reputation as an outdoor recreation playground. From whitewater rafting to rock climbing, outdoor enthusiasts travel from great distances to experience the wonders of the Albright area. Whitewater Rafting The Cheat River Water Trail offers river options for all experiences. SImple float trips are available through the trail. Experienced whitewater enthusiasts find their ultimate test in the Cheat Canyon Section near Albright. Guided adventures are possible on the Cheat River’s premiere Class V whitewater run. The nearby Cheat Narrows offers a Class...Learn More »


History of Arthurdale Arthurdale, known as Eleanor Roosevelt’s “Little Village” was the nation’s first New Deal homestead project, championed by First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt. Originally known as the Reedsville Project, it was changed to Arthurdale after Richard Arthur, from whom the land was purchased. Created in 1933 through President Franklin Delano Roosevelt’s New Deal legislation, the project relocated poor West Virginia families and gave them a new chance at life. First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt was a major force behind the project.  She often visited to dine, dance, and chat with the homesteaders.  She even handed out diplomas at many of the Arthurdale High School’s graduations.  The first homesteaders arrived in 1934 and were given property ranging from two to five acres. Designed by the federal government as a way to help families during the Great Depression, 165 homes were constructed with modern amenities like electricity, indoor plumbing, and a...Learn More »


History of Aurora On the summit of Cheat Mountain, the first settlement in Aurora was made in 1787 by the Reverend John Stough. John Wheeler moved to Aurora in 1800, while other families continued to settle nearby. Originally a German settlement, the town was named Salem and later became Mount Carmel. The current name, Aurora, was suggested because of the town's high altitude.  Aurora Today: What Makes Us Unique Cathedral State Park Located on the summit of Cheat Mountain, Aurora is a prime spot for visitors attracted to its high altitude and crisp, clean air, gentle rolling mountains and deep forests. Designated a National Natural Landmark, Cathedral State Park is West Virginia’s largest old-growth forest and is home to one of the largest stands of virgin hemlock in the state. Hiking through the 133-acre park offers miles of trails, original photography opportunities against endless...Learn More »


History of Brandonville The Town of Brandonville is located just north of Interstate 68 and is named for Colonel Jonathan Brandon, who laid out the town in 1827, after building the first house in the community on land he purchased in 1786. The town was made famous by old iron furnace Brandonville stoves. One of the early agricultural papers was published here, and the area is still a largely agricultural community. Brandonville Today: What Makes Us Unique Today, the town of 84 people is the site of the historic Hagans Homestead, also known as Barnes Hotel and Stone Manor Tourist Home. Originally built in 1830 as a single-family dwelling, the large 2.5 story, "L"-shaped house built of native cut sandstone was maintained by the Barnes family as a hotel during the early 1900s and later as a tourist home in the ’40s and ‘50s. It...Learn More »

Bruceton Mills

History of Bruceton Mills Proudly named by settler John Hoffman for his stepfather, George Bruce, who was a descendant of the King of Scotland, Robert Bruce, Bruceton Mills was chartered in 1853. Bruceton Mills sits along the Big Sandy Creek. Today, the town’s population is 88 citizens.  The essential Big Sandy Creek, a tributary of the Cheat River, once powered multiple mills at Bruceton Mills and today is enjoyed by kayakers. White water rafting on the lower Cheat River is a favorite pastime too. Bruceton Mills Today: What Makes Us Unique Coopers Rock State Forest One must-see stop for hikers in Preston County is the Raven Rock Trail and Overlook to your schedule when visiting Bruceton Mills. The awe-inspiring overlook is 1,000 feet above the Cheat River at Coopers Rock State Forest. Enjoy a 2.5-mile hiking trail leading to the overlook, filled with astounding...Learn More »


History of Kingwood As the county seat of Preston County, Kingwood was established in 1811 and chartered in 1853. Named for its location near a grove of tall, stately trees, Kingwood is home to the first organized Court of Quarter Sessions, a group of justices who initially met at the home of William Price. Preston County was formed from Monongalia County by the act of Assembly passed on January 19, 1818. County court justices convened at the house, known as the “Herndon Hotel,” of William Price in Kingwood. The warm community is recognized for the many hard-working leaders and families who live there. Kingwood Today: What Makes Us Unique Kingwood is a safe community where you can take a relaxing walk or attend social outings. Children play with friends at neighborhood parks and neighbors create lifelong relationships. Neighbors come together to meet the needs of the community, including...Learn More »


History of Masontown Masontown was incorporated in 1905 as a significant stop along the M&K Railroad for the transportation of people and goods into Preston County. Soon after, Masontown had a major attraction in the Oak Park amusement park. Opened in 1909, thousands of visitors would arrive via train on peak weekends to enjoy nearly 100 wooded acres, a 65-foot wooden slide, carousel, roller coaster, swimming and more. The automobile industry found a home in Masontown, with car frames delivered via rail to the town to be assembled at the old Street Motor Ford.  Masontown Today: What Makes Us Unique Today, Masontown is a fantastic place to call home, with friendly, honest citizens who bond together to help out their community. Masontown’s volunteer fire department houses Preston County’s only state-certified swift water rescue team, which serves the area’s water resources such as the Cheat River. Other notable...Learn More »


History of Newburg Newburg was incorporated in 1868 because it was the town most recently established on the Baltimore & Ohio (B&O) Railroad. Its previous name, Stop 88, came from the fact it was 88 miles west of the B&O station at Cumberland, MD.  The Town’s growth was due to the railroad. Development grew as the mining industry expanded because the railroad allowed coal to be transported. But it is known throughout West Virginia and beyond for the 1886 Newburg Mine Disaster, when, on January 21, 1886, 39 men lost their lives in a gas explosion of the Mountain Brook Shaft. The shaft was 355 feet, the deepest in West Virginia at the time. Today, the town’s approximate population is 315.  Newburg Today: What Makes Us Unique Newburg Senior Center The Newburg Senior Center belongs to the Preston County Senior Citizens, Inc.,...Learn More »

Preston County, WV

Located in north central West Virginia and bordering Maryland and Pennsylvania, Preston County is a beautiful place to live and work. Its picturesque, rural setting is only a short distance to several major metropolitan areas. Preston County is included in the Morgantown Metropolitan Statistical Area, which includes a labor force averaging more than 70,000 persons and an unemployment rate under 4.5% in 2021. As such, businesses located in Preston County have a significant labor force available to them....Learn More »


History of Reedsville Incorporated in 1906, Reedsville was named for James Reed, the owner of the land on which a large portion of the town is located. The Phillips-Jones Electric Vacuum Cleaner plant operated in Reedsville through the early 1900s. The town's population today is 450. Reedsville Today: What Makes Us Unique West Virginia University JW Ruby Research Farm & Hazel Ruby McQuain Equine Education & Resource Center The Ruby Research Farm is more than 900 acres dedicated to horse and beef research, along with forage production. The farm was home to prized Quarter Horses, Saddlebreds, and Standardbreds in the 1970s under private ownership. For a time period lasting until 2009, WVU owned it, using it for beef cattle production and grazing research. Horses returned in 2009 for hands-on equine studies, along with weekend horse shows and other community events. Upper Deckers Creek...Learn More »


History of Rowlesburg Filled with historic beauty and charm, Rowlesburg is a community celebrated by history. In 2008, the community celebrated its Sesquicentennial. The town celebrated 180 years. Originally a railroad town, the first train crossed the Cheat River in Rowlesburg on Christmas Day in 1852. At that time, the Sawmill Industry was booming. Rowlesburg was surveyed and granted Historic District Status in 2005, placed on the National Register of Historic Places with recognition of over 50 historic buildings and one small park area at that time. The Nassif Building on Church Street is the oldest standing building in Rowlesburg. The community was awarded ON TRAC status in 2009 and Main Street Affiliate Status in 2021.  Rowlesburg Today: What Makes Us Unique The community of Rowlesburg is exceptional not only for its friendly residents, a willingness to lend a helping hand, but its sports gatherings at...Learn More »

Terra Alta

History of Terra Alta Terra Alta community established recognition in 1853 and is known as the highest locale along the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad. With an elevation of 2,582 feet above sea level, the half-mile-city was known as “Cranberry” and “Cranberry Summit” for the cranberry glades located nearby.   As one of the oldest towns listed on the B & O Railroad System, Terra Alta is historically known as “The Jewel of the Alleghenies.”  Terra Alta Today: What Makes Us Unique Terra Alta’s scenic beauty is a hidden treasure. The Community Park, filled with exceptional amenities, including a playground and picnic tables, welcomes families and residents. A beautiful, scenic walking trail from the TA/EP School grounds winds through the park. The spacious park is an ideal setting for group gatherings and celebrations. Terra Alta/East Preston School Terra Alta offers top-notch learning for students in...Learn More »


History of Tunnelton The community of Tunnelton was built on land filled with forests and wildlife, purchased by James C. McGrew, who envisioned and built a store and large tannery there in 1858. Tunnelton, West Virginia was incorporated in 1907 and acquired its name for its location at the eastern end of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad tunnel, otherwise known as the Kingwood Tunnel, which was the longest tunnel in the world at that time.  Tunnelton Today: What Makes Us Unique Tunnelton Train Depot Tunnelton Train Depot, built in 1912, was once a bustling place filled with passengers and freight on the Baltimore and Ohio lines. Passionate residents came together to purchase and restore the depot in 1994. Logging lots of volunteer time, along with federal and state grants for work on the building, the Depot Museum is open to the public...Learn More »